Lifestyle

5 Tips to De-Stress …

home-grown-way

Now that I have officially finished my second year at University, I feel like going from having a hectic and busy workload to having nothing to do is quite dramatic. I thought that by not having the pressure of assignments etc. that my stress levels would decrease and I would be able to relax, without a care in the world.

Unfortunately, that is currently not that case. Therefore, I have taken some steps in order to de-clutter and de-stress my life, so here are my top 5 tips.

  1. Switch your phone off

If you’re anything like me, and find yourself constantly on your phone, this tip will work for you. I’ve found that turning my phone off for even half an hour, allows me to take time to relax, without constantly refreshing every social media platform to see if anything new has been posted.

  1. Atmosphere

Another great way to de-stress is to create a calming environment that you feel content and relaxed in, for me that includes; lots of candles and house plants. Calming smells make such a difference and can ease your mind by focusing on something new. As well as this, I’ve recently purchased quite a few new house plants in order to de-stress as being close to greenery makes us feel more at ease with our surroundings, as well as the fact that they also look pretty.

  1. Clutter

As soon as I had finished my final assignment for University, I literally gathered all my University work and folders and tidied them all up and placed them in my bookcase so that I don’t have to look at them again. As well as this, I also completely de-cluttered my wardrobe and bedroom. Doing this not only meant I could see the floor of my room but also made me feel great as the feeling of being “buried” increases the level of stress hormones.

  1. Get some fresh air

I’ve found that being cooped up inside all day not only makes me feel groggy but also drains my mood. Taking a little stroll or even sitting in the garden helps improve your mood and helps you relax.

  1. Take care of yourself

I’m the biggest culprit for when I’m stressed or busy I tend to lack in caring for myself in terms of what I eat. It’s easy to think that a microwave meal is a quick and easy option with a glass of coke to wake you up again, but in fact this just makes you feel worse. I’ve started eating meals such as salmon and eggs,  for my dinner, which actually takes less time than a microwave meal! Not only is it a quick and easy solution, but also I’m left feeling energetic and ready to go.home-grown-way

One thought on “5 Tips to De-Stress …

Leave a Reply

