Lifestyle

Barcelona || Let’s Explore.

image

Barcelona, Barcelona. Oh how I’d love to go back!

Reflecting on my trip last year to Barcelona, makes me realise how much I’d love to go back. Despite the fact that I love exploring new places, I am a bit of a nervous traveller, whether that’s because I don’t know what it’s going to be like, I have no idea? However, Barcelona was one of the best places I have been to so far.

When booking the trip, with friends I had no idea what Barcelona held in store for us. 3 days was not long enough, to see everything and I wish I could go back and continue to explore! The city was so vibrant and lively, and frankly it felt homely for the time we were there.

So I thought I’d give you a little run down of where we stayed, what we did, and why I can’t wait to explore more of Barcelona.

–    The Hotel    –

Not knowing very much about Barcelona, I had no idea about all the “back-streets” and little alleys that lay across the city. All we knew, was that we wanted something nice, something close to public transport and in the centre of Barcelona. The Hotel Denit provided us with all of the requirements and more, situated just off Plaça de Catalunya and in the Gothic Quarter meant we were minutes away from main site seeing attractions and from the hustle and bustle of the city.

–    Exploring    –

I strongly recommend doing your research before going on a city break, in order to make sure you cram in as much as possible and so that you’re not stuck in queues all day. With a map circled of all the places we wanted to visit and a schedule of times to be at each destination and mapped out bus routes, we started our adventure. Despite the fact we were only in Barcelona for three days, I feel like we definitely covered a lot of ground, however it’s the best way to see and explore the city. The Sagrada Familia was first on our list, and not an art expert I was a little apprehensive. However, seeing the Church in “real-life” is truly breathtaking, I definitely recommend exploring inside and learning about Gaudí, and his visions. Following on the Gaudí route, we took a trip Park Güell, comprised of gardens and architectonic elements including Gaudí house, which allowed him to view his work on the Sagrada Familia across the city.

IMG_4022

Day two’s first stop was the Picasso Museum which houses one of the most extensive collections of Picasso’s artwork. You may be thinking, why would I want to go there I have no interest? I would agree with you, however the collection is beautiful, and even the building itself is magnificent. Our next stop included a spot of relaxing on the beach of Barcelona followed by some evening food and cocktails along the harbor – a perfect way to end the evening.

Our final full day was a more scenic chilled day to end the holiday. The first stop of the day included the Magic Fountain of Montjuïc, which is a spectacular display of colour, light, motion, music and water acrobatics. The magic foundation is a “must see”, and I’m sad that I didn’t get to attend one of the night shows to see it in it’s glory! Right next to the Magic Fountain of Montjuïc, we hopped on the Montjuïc Cable Car and enjoyed the breathtaking views of the the city and the sea. The final stop of the day is a definite go-to for all the cactus lovers, the Mossèn Costa i Llobera Gardens is a curious botanical garden situated at the foot of Montjuïc. I think it’s fair to say that you could easily spend a full weekend dedicated to attractions on offer at Montjuïc.

IMG_4078

–    The Architecture    –

One of my favourite things above all about Barcelona was its architecture. Gaudí plays a huge influence on the streets of Barcelona, and therefore every corner you turn there’s always something new, different and intriguing to look at – very different to the small town where I live.

6b1c62e5486e64079ab0e4f04907b085

–     Future Plans    –

I definitely recommend taking a trip to Barcelona and marvelling at the wondrous sites it has to offer. I can’t wait to go back again and explore again!

 

Disclaimer: some images are not my own 
Leave a Reply

